Day 5 Something I hope to do in life

Publish a book.  Travel the world.  Save a life.

Good goals, all of them.

But what do I really want?

Before I get old and my bones get frail I want to reach out and be brave.  Feel the wind on my face, full of the scent of pine and hay, leather and sweat.

I want to do the Tevis Cup Race.

100 miles in 24 hours.

I’m looking for the right horse for the job.    I’m 48.  It would be sad to think I arrived in the land of canes and walkers years from now without grasping what life has to offer.

Looking at the video of horses ascending the mountain makes me wonder if it LEADS to canes and walkers.      And because of those thoughts,   I worry about leading the timid life.  The safe life.   The life I hope not to lead.

 

Leave a Reply

